Buy the HORL 3 Cruise if you want the simplest German-made roller and don't care about swapping discs. Buy the Tumbler Pro if you want a ceramic honing disc and the option of whetstone discs later. Both brands work the same way: a magnetic block holds the knife at 15 or 20 degrees, and you roll a diamond disc along the edge. Neither is a hands-on test from us; everything below comes from the makers' Amazon listings and Tumbler's own site, checked October 3, 2026. For the wider field, see the best rolling knife sharpeners.
Quick picks
| Simplest German-made roller | HORL 3 Cruise | Amazon |
|---|---|---|
| Best for upgrading later | Tumbler Pro | Amazon |
| Most popular Tumbler | Tumbler Original | Amazon |
| Interchangeable discs | HORL 2 Walnut | Amazon |
How we compared them
We pulled the Amazon listings for every current Tumbler and HORL model and read the feature lists line by line, then checked Tumbler's own store for disc compatibility. Sales came from Amazon's "bought in past month" figures on October 3, 2026: the Tumbler Original showed about 1,000 purchases, the HORL 3 Cruise about 1,000, and the Tumbler Pro and HORL 2 Walnut about 500 each. One caution on ratings: each brand's models share a single review pool on Amazon (3,388 ratings across Tumbler models and 4,463 across HORL), so the star counts don't separate one model from another.
Side by side
| Model | Sharpening disc | Honing disc | Angles | Swap discs? | Made |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tumbler Original | Diamond-plated disc | Stainless steel "helix" disc | Fixed 15° and 20° | No (Pro discs don't fit) | Not stated in listing |
| Tumbler Pro | 4-layer diamond disc | Ceramic disc | 15° and 20° | Yes: optional whetstone discs | Not stated in listing |
| HORL 3 Cruise | Permanently fixed diamond disc | Stainless steel disc | 15° and 20° | No | Germany; body from ocean-bound recycled plastic |
| HORL 3 Walnut | Block-diamond disc | Ceramic disc | 15° and 20° | Diamond disc pre-installed; ceramic disc included | Germany |
| HORL 2 Walnut | Diamond disc | Ceramic disc | 15° and 20° | Yes: interchangeable discs | Black Forest, Germany |
From each product's Amazon listing; Tumbler disc compatibility from tumblerware.com. "Not stated" means the listing doesn't say. Prices change often, so the buttons show the current price on Amazon.

The models, one by one
HORL 3 Cruise
The Cruise is HORL's no-frills model. The diamond disc is permanently fixed, so there's nothing to swap or lose, and a stainless steel disc on the other end takes off the burr. HORL's listing says the HORL 3 diamonds remove up to 80 percent more steel than the HORL 2's, which matters most on hard Japanese steel, and its Grip Pad holds small pocket knives on the magnet.
HORL frames the angles plainly: 15° for fine Japanese, carbon and Damascus blades, 20° for European chef's knives, outdoor and pocket knives.
- Sharpeningfixed diamond disc
- Honingstainless steel disc
- Angles15° and 20°
- Bodyocean-bound recycled plastic
- Made inGermany
Why it stands out
- Nothing to configure: one diamond disc, one honing disc
- Made in Germany, per the listing
- About 1,000 bought last month
Think twice if
- You want to add finer discs later; this one's disc is fixed
Tumbler Pro
The Pro is Tumbler's step up from the Original: a 4-layer diamond disc, a ceramic honing disc in place of the Original's steel one, and a removable disc system. Tumbler sells 3000 and 6000 whetstone discs and a coarse #150 diamond repair disc for it. Tumbler's store adds a catch: those accessory discs fit only Pro models bought after June 1, 2025, identified by a hex recess above the screw threads.
- Sharpening4-layer diamond disc
- Honingceramic disc
- Angles15° and 20°
- Discsremovable, optional whetstone discs
- Bodyweighted resin
Why it stands out
- Ceramic honing disc and optional whetstone discs
- Coarse repair disc available for chipped edges
- Weighted resin body
Think twice if
- You bought an early Pro: check for the hex recess before ordering discs
Tumbler Original
The Original is the one that sells: about 1,000 bought last month on Amazon. It's the basic recipe, a diamond-plated disc to sharpen and a stainless steel "helix" disc to hone, with the knife held on a magnetic block at a fixed 15° or 20°. Tumbler's site says the Pro's accessory discs don't fit it, so think of it as a finished tool rather than a platform.
- Sharpeningdiamond-plated disc
- Honingstainless steel helix disc
- Anglesfixed 15° and 20°
- Holdermagnetic angle support
Why it stands out
- The simplest Tumbler, with the biggest sales
- Also sold as a two-pack on Tumbler's site, for gifting
Think twice if
- You want ceramic honing or whetstone discs: get the Pro
HORL 2 Walnut
The HORL 2 is the older generation, still sold in walnut and oak. Its listing stresses interchangeable grinding discs and a walnut body on ball bearings, handmade near Freiburg. Against the HORL 3 you give up the faster block-diamond disc and the stickier grip pad, according to HORL's own HORL 3 listing.
- Sharpeningdiamond disc
- Honingceramic disc
- Angles15° and 20°
- Bodywalnut, ball bearings
- Made inBlack Forest, Germany
Why it stands out
- Interchangeable discs
- Diamond and ceramic in the box
Think twice if
- You can get the HORL 3 Walnut, which HORL says removes steel faster
The HORL 3 Walnut is the current premium HORL: block-diamond disc pre-installed, a ceramic honing disc with grooves to clear grinding dust, and the same 15/20 magnet. It has far fewer purchases than the Cruise so far (about 400 last month).
HORL 2 vs HORL 3
HORL's HORL 3 listings give two numbers against the HORL 2: block diamonds with "up to 80% more steel removal", and a Grip Pad with "up to 70% more grip" on the magnetic angle support. Both claims are HORL's own. Angles are the same, 15 and 20. If you're buying new, the HORL 3 is the one to buy; if you already own a HORL 2, those numbers are about speed and convenience, not a sharper result.
Tumbler Original vs Pro
The Original hones with stainless steel; the Pro hones with ceramic, which removes a little steel rather than only pushing the edge straight. The Pro also takes removable discs, including whetstone discs for a finer finish. Tumbler's Black Series goes further, with an aluminum body and four preset angles, but it's a limited run.
Which one for which knives

| Your knives | Maker's angle | Side to use | Works? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shun | 16° per side | 15° | Yes, one degree thin |
| Wüsthof standard blades | 14° per side | 15° | Yes, one degree thick |
| Wüsthof santoku, nakiri | 10° per side | none | No: 15° is 5° thicker |
| Miyabi | 9.5–12° per side | none | No |
| Global | 10–15° per side | 15° | Yes, at the top of Global's range |
| Victorinox | 15–20° per side | 15° or 20° | Yes |
| Single-bevel Japanese knives | one side only | none | No: rollers sharpen both sides |
Brand figures are from each maker's own site; see our Wüsthof and Shun angle pages for the quotes. If your drawer is mostly Miyabi or thin santokus, a roller is the wrong tool; the best sharpeners for Japanese knives go lower.
About the "knock-off" headline
Search "Tumbler vs HORL" and you'll run into Core77's article, titled "UPDATE: This Tumbler Diamond Rolling Knife Sharpener is a Knock-Off". We're reporting that the article exists and what its title says. We haven't independently assessed the claim, and nothing on this page is our judgment about either company's designs. What we can compare is what each listing says the product does, which is the table above.
As a gift

Rolling sharpeners are popular gifts because the recipient needs no skill. For a home cook with German knives, either base model is fine. For someone with good Japanese knives, the Tumbler Pro's ceramic disc and whetstone add-ons give them room to grow. Our knife sharpening gifts guide has more ideas by budget, and rolling sharpener vs whetstone covers when a stone is the better present.
The call
For most kitchens, the HORL 3 Cruise: simple, German-made and selling as well as anything in the category. If you think you'll want a finer finish later, the Tumbler Pro is the more expandable tool, as long as you buy a post-June 2025 unit.
Specs and features from each product's Amazon listing and tumblerware.com, checked October 3, 2026. Brand angles from the knife makers' own sites. Core77 headline quoted, not assessed. Prices change often, so the buttons show the current price on Amazon. How we research · Affiliate disclosure